As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

A purchase of automobiles such as cars increases drastically with the evolution on a nation, however, there are both merits and demerits associated for people with owing a car. This essay will discuss how the merits of owning a car by people surpass its disadvantage. On the one hand, with the development of a nation the purchasing power of an average individual increase significantly which encourages them to own a car which makes them dependent and lazy in a long run. This is because after experiencing a comfort of a car, people perfer driving over walking even for short distances that may increases their reliance on their vehicle and may also minimizes their physical movement. For instance some people become obese as they neglect walking and always prefer to travel in their car. Hence, owning a car may result in some minor detrimental consequences on an individuals health. On the other hand, although there are numerous advantages of owning a car, the fundamentals are the convenience and comfort. It means a longer distance can be covered in a short span of time without being impacted by the environmental factors such as pollution, temperature, and weather. In addition, cars are comfortable and even after driving for longer hours, one may not experience fatigue. For instance, people owning a car travel across nations for their work purpose as well as for leisure time which makes their overall travelling experience comfortable and convenient. Consequently, although owning in a developing nation may decline the walking habit of an individual and make them more dependent, endless benefits of comfort and convenience cannot be neglected. Therefore, the merits of owning a car undoubtedly surpass its demerits for individuals.