Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

With the evolution of technology, many more children have currently access to computer games. This new tendency impacts negatively the youngsters, reducing their physical fitness and their performances at school. In this essay, alongside acknowledging these problems, I will discuss how to solve them by limiting computer time and increasing open-air activities. First of all, few would deny that computer games are an issue impacting negatively children’s health. In fact, spending time in front of a screen reduces their physical activity leading to long-lasting metabolic issues like young-onset obesity. Furthermore, playing video games affects school performance. Accordingly, studies showed that, if continuously exposed to screen lights, the retina and the visual cortex, alongside other brain areas involved in learning and processing information, could suffer irreversible damages. For these reasons, while being entertaining, on-screen activities are affecting the physical and mental well-being of our kids. To reduce these negative effects, stricter control of children’s access to informatic devices along with a more physical-oriented leisure time expenditure could be possible solutions. Parents, in fact, should be more careful about the hours spent by their sons and daughters on their laptops' screens. For example, in countries where parental control over these activities was higher, a strong decrease in virtual hobbies and in their related issues has been witnessed. Furthermore, increasing physical practice and open-air hobbies can be useful to change the habits of our young friends and lead towards a healthier future. In fact, not only will it decrease metabolic paediatric illnesses, but also increase their school productivity. In conclusion, with technological advancements, it’s inevitable for people to get access to computers at an increasingly younger age. This tendency entails several drawbacks both from a physical health standpoint and an academic one. In this essay, I assessed those issues and suggested some behavioural interventions to fix them.