Some people say that public libraries should be free; otherwise they are just a waste of money, especially because modern technologies and the Internet allow easy access to resources. Discuss and give your point of view.

It is considered by some that with accessibility of internet and online sources there is no need for public libraries, causing waste of tax money and space that could be used for more relevant purposes, whereas others tend to believe that libraries should be available for every citizen and important to society. There are a lot more resources online with a lot easier access in more convenient form for most people and mostly includes latest updates on topics. Despite that, some of the oldest locally based archives in most cases can only be found in local libraries. Also, some people may be restricted from internet access as well as just have a preference for paper versions of books. On the one hand, many prefer usage of internet in needed situations. It is a lot easier and faster than spending hours in room full of books looking or an answer to a question or even finding sources for a research. Finding a source for research with more relevant topic is a lot harder in libraries cause of obvious limitation of budget and space. Secondly, nowadays most authors rather publish their works online. It is a lot less costly and does not require a lot of work, compared to publishing it on paper. Most of latest science researches are published on various internet magazines. Not to mention, special sites as google scholar storing those works and providing easier access to them. On the other hand, reading off of a screen will never give the same experience as riding text on paper / Most people notice that they are more concentrated on book while reading paper version, while reading on their phone was distracting cause of many apps and notifications they get. Buying those book could cost a fortune and is not ideal if it is a onetime read, that’s why people use libraries. Also, it I important to mention that some citizens simply don’t have access to internet sources, due to financial all other issues, and tend to turn to public libraries in search for information. In conclusion, online sources might be the most relevant and convenient source, but there is no need to be shutting down public libraries, cause they’re still might be helpful and interesting for groups of people.