Some educational systems make students study specialised subjects from the age of fifteen while others require students to study a wide range. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The question of a narrower curriculum at school for students from age 15 onwards has become progressively contentious as some educational reformers incline towards a wide breadth of subjects. In my opinion, while the former seems valid for the surging pace of modern life, the latter is more desirable to train more well-adjusted individuals. The most frequently cited rationale for limiting subjects for students from the age of 15 is the demand for greater focus. We are all aware that myriad children begin to pursue their aspirations from the beginning of grade school. One of the salient illustrations of this is often indicated in numerous successes in which they have been investing in their careers from their teenage years such as Mark Zuckerberg with his Facebook empire and Elon Musk with the space company SpaceX. These individuals have been dedicating themselves to reaching mastery which could cost their entire lives. The accumulated evidence has reasoned that fewer subjects for students after age 15 are a safeguard for a child's future career. Albeit conceding the presented merits, I would contend that a diverse range of skills and interests is a better catalyst for future success. Research has elucidated that pupils increasingly engaging in assorted skill sets allow them for increased creativity and being more sociable. This can be most apparently seen in the rising populations of students in international schools, who have to balance between compulsory subjects such as maths and science and other electives like music and arts. This educational reform does wonders for not only opening the other side of the brain but also the interaction between their peers. Therefore, equipping teenagers aged over 15 with a diversionary set of skills confers a valid standpoint as students will have more autonomy over their lives and not feel that they are harnessed to a single career and purpose. In conclusion, the beneficial values of reduced subject choices cannot outweigh those of educating students to be well-rounded from the age of 15 as it points to the diversionary experience at school. In my final thought, educators and school principals should propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance in distributing evenly mandatory and elective disciplines in the timetable.