Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that people tend to let their old parents live in nursing homes, instead of taking care of these elderly people at home. I would agree that this trend has both advantages and disadvantages, and there are some points below. To begin with the benefits, the most advantage of nursing facilities is that they provide intensive care. This is because these facilities have trained staff who help with routine care in terms of nutritious meal diets or specialized healthcare. Conversely, many families may look after the elderly with regard to basic needs such as dressing, bathing, and eating. Besides special care, such places organize leisure activities for the aged to take part in, which help them to feel a sense of community and befriend fellow people. Leisure clubs, for example, is a place where elderly people socialize and share their common internet with others. However, nursing homes are likely to put a financial strain on families. The reason for this is that the cost of nursing care is typically expensive, and some people can not afford the cost. In contrast, if they look after old people at home, they might reduce many charges. Another issue is proximity to old people ’s families. People who live in nursing facilities are often distant from their families because their nursing facilities may be far from their homes. As a result, their relatives might visit them at weekends or holidays, and it would make them lack family bonds and feel distressed In conclusion, although nursing homes may offer specialized care and many community activities, they might be costly to cover and lacking in families presence.