Schools are spending more time in traditional subjects like history, etc. They should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help them find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

At present, modern schools allocate a significant amount of time teaching old-fashioned modules such as history, second language and so on to children. However, a few agree that preaching learnable skills relevant to the job market is most suitable and appropriate. In my opinion, I partly agree with the statement and shall try to justify it in the ensuing paragraphs. Understandably, people are aware of the consequences of spending a considerable amount of time learning relevant skills and certainly, there is a number of reasons for it. Firstly, exposure to that really assists them in gaining confidence knowing that they would face the same situation and answer similar questions. As a result, they would not feel anything new and most likely perform better. However, learning and spending ample time on cultural subjects is not a bad idea to some extent. Children should definitely study those subjects in their primary or elementary school, since that would make them aware of the historical events that happened in the past across the globe. Along with that, the knowledge accumulated regarding those past events would aid them to crack various competitions and exams, for instance, a very popular IPS (Indian Police Service) exam in India. These are obvious benefits that could also potentially help children earn money while studying. To recapitulate, the modern schools should obviously spend more number of hours in making young children learn required skills so that they can find a job very easily. In contrast, a certain number of hours should also be devoted to studying subjects related to historical events.