Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

The integration of genetics and neuroscience has sparked a heated debate about their correlation. Numerous people argue that human behaviour is inextricably linked to the genetic composition of an individual and there is no other way to alter the former. I personally do not accord with the above statement. In this essay, firstly, I will elaborate on the factors responsible for comprehensive mental development and secondly, on revamping of disposition. To begin with, a myriad of factors contribute to the psychology formation from the neonatal period. Apart from the genes, environmental conditions prevailing around the child in his early childhood have a pivotal role in this aspect. This can be attributed to the fact that most of the brain development occurs in the first three years and every stimulus perceived by the toddler incorporates a memory in his cortex, ignites a response and moulds his character. For instance, recent research demonstrated that children who grow in a playful environment with others, tend to be friendly in their later life, when compared to their peers who are deprived of this. Thus, it substantiates the necessity of harbouring good conditions during early growth. On the other hand, there are many other ways to transform one's stereotyped way of behaviour. This is due to the fact that persistent and conscious practice has the ability to bring a change in an involuntary response. For instance, practising Yoga and breathing techniques significantly succoured anger management and reduced the frequency of startling. Hence, it is proved that a healthy lifestyle plunges negative and unwanted traits. To conclude, I believe that conduct is not predestined by the DNA, instead, it is a product of a multitude of collective factors, which can be harnessed to modify the demeanour. Therefore, parents should endeavour to provide appropriate momentum during the establishment of one's disposition.