In many cities crime is increasing. Why does this happen? What can governments do to help reduce crime levels?

Crime is a complex phenomenon with a host of factors. Many governments discuss the possible measures to take in order to decrease the violation rate. Nonetheless, crime is increasing. In my opinion, the main reasons are unemployment and poverty. The following paragraphs will discuss the reasons for committing criminal offences and why posting more guards and offering training programmes can tackle this issue. To commence with, first and foremost, poverty and unemployment are perhaps the main reason why people engage in criminal acts. According to a UNICEF report, more than 3 billion people are living in extreme conditions worldwide. When people cannot earn for their basic needs they start looking for alternative ways of getting wealthy. Moreover, these people can become bad role models for their peers and encourage them to commit violent offences. For example, peer pressure can push young people into violating rules, having drugs, pickpocketing. Subsequently, poverty and peer pressure together can significantly raise the number of crimes. In terms of solutions, I believe that governments are largely responsible. Governments can support unemployed people by providing free professional programmes to help people to gain new skills. This can be beneficial for both individuals and businesses. Additionally, more street cameras can be installed on the streets along with more guards. For example, these actions can deter people from committing a crime. To conclude, poverty and unemployment in cities are the main reasons that can draw people to commit a crime. If special measures are not taken, this issue will only escalate. I believe that governments have a critical role to play to ensure safety for their citizens.