Many people in the music business feel that illegal music sites on the internet are a serious threat to the industry and more should be done to prevent them from operating. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

With the advent of the internet and of modern file formats, it is becoming easier to illegally share music on the net. Many people think that this is a real concern for the whole business and that several actions must be taken to prevent this phenomenon. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with this concern and why I agree it is completely reasonable to try and stop this tendency. It is safe to say that illegal websites are a threat to the whole music industry. The main reason behind this claim is that artists’ income is strongly reduced by this phenomenon. For instance, the estimated income reduction for a top-ten singer due to pirate streams is around two to five million dollars. Furthermore, besides affecting the immediate monetary rewards of the artists, web pirates impacts future production, given the limited funds and the heavy expenses behind the creation of an album. Not only does illegal stream impair artists’ income, but also threatens the salaries of all the employees in the industry, starting from the lights technicians and ending with the producers. In fact, it is estimated that 50% of the money derived from an album release, are dedicated to the staff behind its production. Many people, in this scenario, believe that stricter measures have to be taken to prevent this demeanour. First, it is known that illegal streamers are always left unbothered, despite they are often identified. To weigh on this topic, I read that many producers addressed how this soft policy could impact heavily the world of arts in general, thus reaching fields of cinema and theatres. Besides this, to leave unscathed these streamers is also unfair for the regular websites that have their subscribers pay for their favourite albums. In fact, if these loyal customers decided to stop paying regularly, given the freedom and the safety of illegally downloading songs, many websites’ employee would lose their job. In conclusion, few would deny that illegal streaming is negatively impacting the music business and it is believed that stricter measures have to be taken to arrest this misdemeanour. In this essay, I discussed these beliefs and explained the reasons why I completely agree with them.