The maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The upkeep of common information centers is viewed as uneconomical due to computer technologies that play a similar role. I strongly disagree with the statement because communal reference spaces are home of knowledge and accessible to all and sundry, at a minimal cost. To start with, book collection centers benefit netizens from all walks of life regardless of their social class, so whether rich,marginalized or poor, the accessibility to these facilities is pocket friendly in terms of cost. Further, most of these study spaces belong and are funded by the Government through taxation by the common man this helps in reduction of the monthly subscriptions thus making it affordable. For example, a study done in the University of Nairobi Sociology Department in the year 2015 revealed that membership by subscription for both new and old clients had shown an upward trend and was at 80% due to easy accessibility. Secondly, in the media centers one can come across several books without cost and this can help in sharpening one's knowledge and skills. To add to that, the librarians are at the members disposal and usually help and guide in finding useful and accurate content as opposed to digital technology which is filled with misinformation. To add to that, the bookstore also provides the end user with a quiet environment devoid of destructions. In conclusion, while it argued that suspension of shared reference areas is a waste of financial resources, I strongly disagree with the notion since it is not only easy to access but also affordable.