Many people in the music business feel that illegal music sites on the internet are a serious threat to the industry and more should be done to prevent them from operating. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In today's modern world, there has been a sudden escalation in the number of music followers. Some people from the music industry feel that this rise has led to the rapid increase in illegal music sites which can be a serious threat to the business. In my opinion, I support this contention due to many reasons. This essay will argue why this statement is true. Critics who are in the music business are of the belief that unauthorized sites are a major risk to them and counter steps should be taken to prevent them from operating because these sites on the internet do not care about the originality of music so the public, who are fans, are likely to ignore the value and essence of any music creation. Moreover, people can easily download music from such sites. Consequently, it likely affects the sale on authorized sites. For an instance, Justin Bieber, who is a renowned singer, lost his music sales by fifteen per cent last year since his new release was leaked on multiple illegal sites. Therefore, many folks consider this phenomenon a significant peril to the industry. On the contrary, some folks believe it otherwise because there are many distinguished music creators, who sell their music songs at exorbitant prices and not all fans can afford such expensive music so many illegal sites are likely considered a boon to them. To give a quintessential example, in 2018, a song by an esteemed singer was sold massively on illegal sites than legitimate sites. Hence, for some people, this is beneficial. In conclusion, despite few positives, it is true that illegal sites have become a huge hazard to the music industry as it reduces the importance of the hard work put by many music composers to create beautiful music songs. In my opinion, the government can also impose strict laws to prevent them from operating above a certain limit.