Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

It is often argued whether a retirement age of around 60-65 years for everybody is needed or not. This essay disagrees that the retirement age must be set irrespective of occupation. This essay first discusses how different type of work takes a varied amount of toll of the body and then explains how each individual achieves a prime at different ages in their life. Firstly, the amount of physical work involved in the selected occupation should be the prime reason before age to start earning a pension is chosen. The more physical stress a job has, the lesser the retirement age it should have. This is because there are more chances of someone injuring themselves when they are old as compared to when they were young. For example, a scientific study by a popular college in India states that people working in the mechanical industry tend to be more vulnerable to injuries at an early age rather than those working in the IT industry. As a result, it becomes unfair to set the same age to stop working for both these fields. Secondly, there cannot be a specific age where a person is at their best. The best can arrive at any age. We know the world's famous food chain KFC was started by its owner when he was way above 60 years. There indeed cannot be any age restrictions imposed on when one can achieve success in their life. In conclusion, a fixed age cannot be decided for a person to retire as it varies depending upon their line of work or in which year they achieve their prime.