More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

Consumption of sugary drinks is increasing every day even though are unhealthy. The main reason for this is the way they are advertised. Therefore, agencies should mention the harmful effects of these drinks on human health in their advertisements, so people should know what they are choosing. People are mesmerised by the commercials for these drinks. They see their favourite celebrity or sports person advertising that drink and they are attracted towards it like flies towards a light bulb. These drinks, although harmful for both health and the environment, are manufactured by large organisations that are too powerful to stop now. They hire lawyers to silence any allegation made against them and keep their production going. Furthermore, these businesses use a variety of tactics to sell their products that target the population that is addicted to them. For instance, there are combination offers that include soft drinks at a reduced price if you buy them with a burger or a pizza. These offers make these drinks more accessible and popular. Some solutions can be proposed to fix the above problems. Firstly, the creation of a regimen that dictates a clear mention of harmful effects of such products on a person's fitness in their advertisements. An organisation that ensures the abiding of these rules by all the advertising agencies and strict punishment in place. Secondly, spreading awareness about the consequences of drinking such drinks on health and the effect on the environment they have due to their production, so people can better decide whether to buy such products or not. Thirdly, a tax on sugar -based drinks by the government penalises people for drinking high sugar drinks. More the sugar, more the tax. Finally, manufacturers should consider healthier alternatives to sugar for these drinks. Some examples are Aspartame and Stevia, that taste like sugar but are harmless even if consumed in bulk. To conclude, due to their high consumption rate these sugary drinks are causing strain on our healthcare system. But this could be solved by proposing strict laws to ensure healthy consumption among people and by introducing healthier alternatives.