Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Most people would agree that car ownership has increased in recent years and this is causing a range of problems. In this essay, I will describe these problems and suggest solutions that could help solve them. Traffic jam is a common problem of all big cities. When you drive, for example, to the city center because of an appointment there, it could be uncertain would you be late or not. Moreover, when you reach your destination there could be no accessible parking, and you would be driving some extra time to look for a vacant parking place. It is worth mentioning that big cities have air pollution problems that are also related to congestion. One of the best approaches governments can take is to encourage people to use public transport. It could include such measures as dedicated lanes for public transport, comfortable public vehicles, and affordable prices. Buses, trams, and trains are good ways of getting around, and if they are cheap and reliable, people will use them. Another approach to discourage people from using their cars is to establish expensive parking in the downtown and at the same time, free parking on the outskirts. This would make people leave their own vehicles at the car parks and change to public transport. Furthermore, governments should encourage people to use bicycles instead of cars. Building a bicycle path that allows getting around in any direction would help attract many people who prefer more eco-friendly transport. To sum up, traffic jam is an issue resulting from a higher amount of people owning a car. Some measures might be taken by the government to encourage people to use public transportation and bicycles instead of their own cars.