Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Over the last few years, because of economic growth, the concept of consumerist society is becoming more popular. It means that people buy much more than this is necessary for them. In this essay, I will explore the reasons for this conduct and the actions that could help to tackle this problem. There are several reasons why people get into debt to buy things that are not essentials for them. Firstly, the governments encourage people to spend money to buy everything from realty estate to modern household appliances. This is because, when people spend their disposable income instead of saving money, they help different companies to increase their income that results in boost economics and more taxes go to the country’s budget. That is why authorities undertake measures to make bank loans are more accessible for the majority of the population. Another reason for increased consumption is likely related to the development of different social networks such as Facebook or Instagram where people try to demonstrate their superiority through luxury things. On one hand, this helps them increase their self-esteem, on the other hand, this prompts others to buy the same things or even more luxurious and expensive. Consequently, people get into a debt trap for a long time. Finally, these days, people can obtain credit cards easier than before and when many tempting things such as new gadgets, fashion, or jewelry, surround you, it is very difficult to refrain from buying them. The ultimate responsibility for reckless spending lies with people. They should learn to plan their expenses and spend money only for necessary things with their level of income. For example, it could be a budget application where you lay out your expenses for the coming year or month and then you spend following this plan. Therefore, you can control all your expenses and avoid buying unnecessary things. To sum up, nowadays, with the development of technologies and financial institution people hardly can resist the temptation to purchase something impulsively that creates for them serious financial difficulties. However, wise planning and avoiding spontaneous purchases could help to solve these problems and to prevent mankind from increasing financial burden.