Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Road traffic accidents are quite common all over the world, costing many lives every year. This happens mostly due to careless driving, overspeeding, or using mobile phones while driving. Many people are of the opinion that having strict policies about such violations is the only way to reduce these accidents, whereas the other proponent holds the stance that by educating the people about road safety measures would be a better protocol in this regard. I believe that the road mishaps can be decreased by implementing both the above strategies in a sequence. In this essay, I will elaborate on both the above-mentioned views and will present my opinion about this issue. Firstly, the road authorities in many countries take the irresponsible road behaviour of the motorists as a serious offence and take strict measures against the violators. For instance, the " Road and Traffic Authority" in the United Arab Emirates issues heavy fines even for minor road offenses. Next, for more serious law-breakers, a number of black points on the driver's or the car's license are issued, causing the cancellation of their license in due course of time, and for major violations, the vehicle is confiscated and impounded. Therefore, practising such harsh measures has resulted in a very low number of road accidents in this country. On the other hand, some people believe in the fact that punishments over violations of the traffic laws is not the right approach. This group supports more lenient methods to decrease the number of accidents, for example, by assigning a community service to the offenders or making them complete a few educational hours on traffic rules and regulations. As an instance, the famous Judge Frank Caprio in the United States mostly issues negligible amount of fines for small traffic offenses like jumping the red light or over speeding. However, I believe that being soft on the law-breakers would only encourage them to continue doing so in future. To conclude, bending traffic laws is a serious crime and should be dealt with strictly. While some people favour this idea, others demand leniency towards such crimes. In the end, I believe that all attempts should be made to spread awareness among masses before issuing driving licenses to them, but also strict measures should be taken if still the drivers show negligence towards the traffic rules.