Nowadays more people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

People can run their own businesses or get employment in various organizations and companies. It is opined that these days more and more people tend to work freelance, instead of being employed. This essay will discuss the main reasons and drawbacks associated with this issue and propose a logical conclusion. The two major advantages of being self-employed include higher income and more flexibility. Firstly, being a freelancer, you are struggling with your own business. Therefore, you do your best to thrive in your business and raise your earnings. While employees are less likely to be compensated for their efforts more than their fixed salaries. Furthermore, working on your own provides you with more comfort. To illustrate, an employee could not choose their partners, working hours or office location, while these are optional for freelancers. That is why the trend of freelance work is growing. Despite the benefits, this issue has some drawbacks. There is always an uncertainty about their income. In fact, these people expect no income or even loss in some months, as their business would be influenced by economic cycles, environmental and social status. For instance, spreading Covid19 led to the bankruptcy of many businesses around the world. This phenomenon could be accentuated by some deficiencies in facilities. For example, many employers provide bonuses such as free health insurance or accommodation for their employees, whereas freelancers lack these rewards. This way, freelance work could bring some shortcomings with it. To conclude, even though freelancers could take advantage of more earnings and comfort, they may confront bankruptcy or be deprived of some essentials such as insurance.