Shopping is the favourite past time of most of the young people.Why is this the case?Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities in their free time?

Shopping is the favourite recreational activity among majority of the youth.The reasons attributed to this, is to remain abreast with matters fashion. However shopping is a waste of time in my opinion and the youngsters can be encouraged to spend their time in other useful activities like reading. to start with,the young people go for regular purchasing with the aim of satisfying their needs such as fashion. Fashion trend among the young generation changes so frequently that for one to remain updated with matters fashion,regular visits to shop would do the trick. Astudy done in the united kingdom in 2020,revealed that 80% of the population that visited the mall commonly to check and buy the latest fashion trends were the young people. Therefore unnecessary shopping should not be encouraged in my opinion because it wastes time,which could be spent on other activities like reading. To add on to that,the youth can spend their leisure time in more productive activities such as reading by engaging their minds in studying this will help them broaden their thinking,furnish them with information and prepare them for their future careers.To further explain, a research done in makerere university in 2019,showed that 75% of the young people who spend quality time reading produced the best grades.So the youth should be motivared to develop reading culture during their free time. in conclusion,in as much as shopping is essential in our day to day life,the youngsters should be motivated to indulge in more useful activities.