In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is with no doubt that the credit for the advancement of human civilization from the stone age to the digital era that we live in today can be accounted to the developments in science and technology. However, our intellectual development can only be attributed to myriad art forms be it in the past or present. Technology may have made homo sapiens superior to any living being on earth but it is unequivocal that it is art which makes us all humane. Regions across the world are united by ballads, different kinds of dance forms, exemplary literature etc. Although we all be significantly different from one another, we all come together to appreciate the beauty of art as art and its beauty is universal. The benefits bestowed on us by technology may be numerous such as it has made cross country trade easier, communication faster, developed social standards in general although what still remains in this modern era is the primitive art forms which dates back to millions of years ago and still holds its place in today’s world. Art makes us ponder on various issues such as misery, love, genocide,beauty etc which makes us rethink our whole values which forms the whole basis of our existence. A presentation on World War II may be made available by a desktop and transmitted to a wide range of people via the internet where by the statistics of the number of people who died and the places of where each mishap happened can be stated as facts However in order to invoke in the minds of people the feelings of hardships and suffering that was faced by those Jews back then could only be conveyed maybe by a film, a musical composition or a book written on it. Therefore as much as we can go on and on about how technology has transformed the way how we live what we must not forget is that it is art which makes us stay grounded to our roots from where we came from and makes living worthwhile.