Since the turn of the millennium, an increasing number of people have switched from reading traditional books to electronic media. What has caused this significant change and what are the results for children and adults?

In the modern-day society, more and more people have become more comfortable with viewing virtual media rather than physical books. This essay will initially explain the main reasons behind the switch and will further, explain the effects this has on children and adults. Firstly, switching to digital reading can be caused by various different reasons, one being: the vast variety of books to choose from. People will have a better selection of online material to pick from, rather than having to purchase hard copies of the same version(if not older). Children nowadays have started using online resources to help them academically. Grown-ups would also have more resources they can look up instantly without having to search around for specific books, this can even reduce time consumption. For example, news channels have stated that statistically, there has been an 73% increase in demand for gadgets due to easy access to a bunch of resources on the internet. However, the effect from moving to electronic media is that, both children and adults have become too dependent on devices. This can lead to folks becoming more addicted to technology, which can have a negative impact on most people. Children can be swamped with choices that can get them carried away from their main purpose of resource. Adults may find false information since there is many different sources of information on devices. The addiction can also result in health issues, such as, headaches or eyestrains due to long hour screen-time. In conclusion, the transfer to digital books can cause students to have more variety of books to learn from and adults to have more resources to work with. The effect this can have on people maybe addiction or health issues. To prevent this, there should be a cautionary action whilst using technology, especially for longer hours during the day.