In recent years, the family structure and the role of its members are gradually changing. What kinds of changes can occur? Do you think these changes are positive and negative?

In recent years, we do see a positive change in how flexible ‘family’ as a social institution has emerged. The social stigma surrounding adoption, surrogacy, divorce, late marriage, child-less marriage is getting less importance in liberal urban neighborhoods. We see the role of men changing from just being the breadwinner to also an equal parent to the children at home. Both the sexes combine their expertise to run the household smoothly. The decisions at home involve children, elderly, the man and the woman of the house. The filo-centric approach to manage affairs have children at the forefront. The children participate, negotiate and alter decisions due to access to knowledge through internet. There are also single parent families which are functioning if a woman decides not to marry but have a child. Additionally, live-in relationships are common among working professionals in the cities. This could turn negative financially or legally if the couple decides to break-off. Overall, we do see changes both positive and negative. In rural as well as urban family structures change due to migration for work, study or marriage. Although, nuclear and joint family structure are more common than the rest.