Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Growing tourism industry has contributed to the economic development of many countries, but often faces some issues as well and difference between customs and behaviors of tourists and natives is one of such issues. While one school of thought agrees that local customs and behaviors should be followed, other one believes that foreign culture should be welcomed. In this essay, I will discuss both the views followed by mine. Every country has its own customs, beliefs and behaviors which are imbibed in its citizens and thus, citizens are accustomed to behave in a certain way. When people of one country visit another country, they tend to continue their native behavior. Many believe that this is not ideal when visiting a foreign country. They believe that local customs and norms should be followed because of a number of reasons. To begin with, when tourists visit another country, such native customs and conduct is more acceptable to the local people and thus, tourists would not face any problems adjusting to the new place. For instance, if one knows how to eat food using chopsticks, they would be able to enjoy their meals more comfortably in countries like China or Japan. Additionally, natives also welcome tourists who are well versed with their culture and hence, tourists would not feel unwelcome and in some worse cases, hostile. For example, tourists wearing short clothes in a religious place may offend the locals, if they are not aware of the local norms. Therefore, people should try to learn and follow native cultures and beliefs of the host country to have a comfortable and joyous tour. On the other hand, many believe that cultural differences should be acceptable by the host country owing to many reasons. Firstly, one of the goals of tourism industry is to promote cultural inclusion and diversity which cannot be achieved if tourists are forced to follow host country ’s customs. For instance, in India, many people have learned to speak English so that they can communicate with tourists, and thus promoting literacy in India. This would not have been possible if tourists were asked to learn and speak Hindi while visiting India. Secondly, this trend also helps people to learn about other cultures and sometimes adapt some good things of a particular culture. For instance, people do not litter in other countries where littering is banned and people are fined if found littering. As a result of this, tourists do not litter in their own country as they believe that this is not a good practice. Finally, not everyone can be forced to follow a local norm because every individual has their own likes and dislikes. Clothing of a particular nation, for example, cannot be comfortable for everyone. Therefore, cultural differences should be acceptable to the host country to promote tourism. In my opinion, tourists visit a certain country to enjoy and discover new cultures, norms and places. They should be allowed to behave as they find it comfortable. Host country can promote its culture through local art, food and places but should not force tourists to follow their culture. It is often observed that tourists find native art and food very fascinating and thus, spend their money to purchase and take it back to their countries. This helps to promote local norms and culture. Additionally, if any behavior of tourist is unacceptable or offending to locals, then they should communicate it to tourists and should be told about the acceptable conduct. In conclusion, following host country ’s culture would make tourists feel more welcome and comfortable during their visit, however, forcing them to comply with such norms may devoid the host nation from learning about new cultures. Therefore, a mix of foreign and local culture and norms should be acceptable by the host nations to promote and grow the tourism industry.