Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

At the present time, people mobility have grown rapidly causing traffic jam and air pollution. Since that, the optimum way to solve these problems is to raise the petrol fee. This essay will discuss my opinion regarding increase the price of gasoline and another way that might be useful to solve these problems. I do agree that many countries have taken steps to increase the price of petrol to solve these problems, moreover, some nations have discarded the cheapest option of petrol. In Indonesia, for instance, the government have removed premium type gasoline which is the lowest price petrol. On the order hand, the government also develop their public transportation to encourage people move to use public transportation instead of using a private vehicle. It is clear that increasing the petrol fee and developing the public transportation will reduce traffic jam and air contamination. Additionaly Additional, raising vehicle tax will also suppress the growth rate of the number of vehicles. Therefore, people with medium economic conditions prefer to use public transportation. For example, in Singapore the executive apply high tax to the citizen which have a private transportation. As the result, Singapore have low traffic congestion and have good quality air. To conclude, the best way to suppress the grow of traffic is increasing the price of the petrol but in the other hand, the government needs to improve their public transportation to support their policy. In my opinion, the other way to control the growing traffic and air pollution is raising the private vehicle tax therefore, people tend to use public transportation.