Schools should concentrate on teaching students the academic subjects that will be useful for their future career. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both view and give your opinion

Traditionally, academic subjects are widely considered as prior courses that schools should focus on because of their relevance to students ’ future occupations. However, nowadays, many people subscribe to the idea that non-academic subjects such as arts and sports are also essential for a comprehensive development of students. Both viewpoints are justifiable, but I would lean towards the latter. On the one hand, core subjects are indeed important because they provide students a solid socio-economic knowledge background. It could be said that the foremost objective of people who attend formal schooling is to secure employment and earn a lucrative income. To this end, they need to cultivate social knowledge, foreign language, and critical thinking ability through core courses such as science, math, language, history. On the other hand, subjects such as sports and music cannot be discounted altogether. First, these subjects play important roles for the comprehensive development of students in both physical and mental aspects. For instance, in USA, the model of “Liberal Arts Education” is very popular for its effectiveness where every student need to acquire knowledge regarding music, films, sports, and arts irrespective of their majors. These subjects are conductive to improve interpersonal skills for students, broaden their horizon in many fields and indirectly make them more employable in the future. Moreover, non-academic subjects provide potential talents to be discovered and trained. Without the opportunity to participate in these activities since the primary or secondary level, it would be a loss for both students who have an aptitude for arts and society. To conclude, undoubtedly, core subjects should be given precedence in schools. However, I strongly believe that students should have a chance to participate in non-academic subjects such as music and sports for their comprehensive development.