Excessive sugar consumption causes many diseases. Some people think that it is the government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption while others think that it is the individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views

A number of diseases are nowadays caused by high sugar intake. While some would argue that governments should take charge to control its consumption by the people, I believe that limiting the amount of sugar one eats is the responsibility of the individuals. On the one hand, authorities can bring in laws that could help control the levels of sugar added to the products available in the market. Although the amount of artificial sugar added is mentioned on the product labels, people hardly care about these numbers and there has been a significant rise in the consumption of these products in the last few years. With the help of strict laws, governments can monitor and restrict the levels of sugar added to packaged foods and drinks. For example, the UK government has brought in a law to restrict the amount of sugar to just 1% in cold drinks. However, I believe that even if the amount of sugar is restricted at the manufacturing level, the amount of its intake could only be controlled by individuals who eat such foods. On the other hand, people who eat excess amounts of sugar should be held accountable for their bad health and obesity. Since nobody can be forced to not-to-eat sugar, it is a person’s own responsibility to take care of their health and work on changing their eating habits. There are many fitness programs available in the market today, anybody who wants to get fit and change their eating routines can join these programs. For instance, Tata Fitness Centre in Banglore has helped more than a thousand people in changing their eating styles in just the last two months. I believe that one’s choice to take such a step will surely lead them to live a happy and healthy life. In conclusion, it can surely be said that it person’s own choice to control their sugar intake because governments can’t stop you from eating what is available and following a healthy lifestyle is something which cannot be forced.