Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A major portion of the population spends most of their time working, as a result, getting less time for fun and recreational activities. This has both benefits and drawbacks, however, as per my perspective, the former outweighs the latter. A number of merits for working so long can be countless. To commence with, spending many hours on work can alleviate the professional reputation of an individual. This will help the person to seek better growth in the organisation, subsequently leading to a hike in the pay package. An increase in salary can possibly resolve all the issues of an employee, as he can live a lavish lifestyle. In addition to that, working on a job is much better than spending time ideally. Therefore, this will make the productive use of day-hours. Also, the mindset of a person will become vast, which will be highly beneficial for him in the long run. For instance, an employee working overtime will be entitled to extra payment, which can help the employee both in monetary and non-monetary means, as he will be given preference for promotion also. There are a number of drawbacks too. Firstly, there will be no work-life balance for an individual. It can lead to conflicts in the house and in the office, and there are high chances that work can suffer. To exemplify, research has proven that a person cannot concentrate on work if he had an argument with one of the family members. Furthermore, there are instances that an individual can be prone to health issues if working so long because there is not much physical activity involved. To conclude, everyone wishes to have a huge bank balance and reputation in society. It is certain that one has to suffer from various issues. Therefore, from my viewpoint, concerning benefits of working long hours outweigh its drawbacks.