Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Economic growth, despite its myriad benefits, often leads to a number of problems and some of the most prominent ones are the worsening condition of traffic and air pollution. Some propose that raising the petrol price would be the best way to curb the problems. In this essay, we will discuss why it would not be the best option and try to introduce alternative measures to effectively tackle the issues. It is easy to grasp the notion that the growing number of vehicles is the primary cause of the traffic issue, and pricier fuels will provide economic incentives for the people to opt for an alternative mode of transport, thus solve the matters. Nonetheless, there are notable drawbacks to such a measure, with the most important one stems from the fact that it would create distortion in a broader market. For instance, food prices will be inflated due to rising logistic costs. Moreover, in developing nations like Indonesia, the primary source of emission is the energy generation sector. This fact is most apparent during the lockdown, despite people's movement is limited, the coal-powered energy company continues to operate causing the air quality to remain unhealthy. There are a plethora of solutions being discussed worldwide. However, a stringent policy on car ownership would be the most viable yet effective measure. Singapore is a great example of this idea, resulting in better traffic compared to its neighbouring capitals such as Jakarta and Kuala Lumpur. As for the pollution issue, we should focus to push a transient transition to a cleaner power source used in generating electricity. To conclude, in spite of having several benefits, administering the increase in energy cost would not be the best option the curb the problem of overcrowded roads and bad unhealthy air. Rather, the government should focus on the attempt to limit the number of cars and support the transition to greener energy.