In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a common belief that the disadvantages of the self-driving systems that will be developed in the future by the automobile industry will outweigh their advantages. However, there is a more persuasive argument that these systems will be beneficial, because they may protect people from the dangers of their own actions. On the one hand, the technology used in self-driving cars can violate the car owner’s privacy, since the autonomous systems actually collect and save a vast amount of data. They know when and where their owners have traveled, how often they travel, and where they are at every single moment. The problem is that this information is not safe. Many IT professionals reported in a recent study that computerized-driving systems are vulnerable to hackers, as they can easily access the data saved in the storage device in the car. Therefore, such a system could make the drivers victims of crimes when this system becomes widely used. Nevertheless, self-driving automobile systems will make us safer than before. These systems are based on finely-tuned algorithms designed to overcome human error. As a matter of fact, research has shown that about 70 percent of automobile accidents would be prevented by autonomous systems. This is because they continuously monitor road conditions and check driving speeds, keeping a distance from the cars in front of them. This capacity would lead to an overall reduction in accident rates. Namely, these systems will make everyone on the road much safer than before. To cut a long story short, while there are some disadvantages to self-driving automobiles, it is evident that there will be more advantages with the use of these systems