In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a common belief that the disadvantages of the self-driving systems that will be developed in the future by automobile industry outweigh their advantages. However, there is a more persuasive argument that these systems will be beneficial because they may protect people from the dangers of their own actions. On the one hand, technology used in self-driving cars can be violates the car owner’s privacy. Since the autonomous systems actually collect and save a vast amount of data. They know that when and where their owners have traveled, how often they travel, and where they are at every single moment. The problem is this information is not safe. Many IT professionals reported in the recent study that computerized driving systems are vulnerable to hackers as they can easily access those data saved in storage device in the car. Therefore, such system could make the drivers victims of crime when this system become widely used. Nevertheless, self-driving automobile systems will make us more safe than before. These systems are based on finely tuned algorithms designed to overcome human’s error. As a matter of fact, research has shown that about 70 percent of automobile accidents can be prevented by autonomous systems. This is because they continuously monitor road conditions and check driving speed, keeping a distance from the cars in front of them. This capacity can lead to an overall reduction in the accident rate. Namely, these systems will make everyone on the road much safer than before. To cut a long story short, while there are some disadvantages to self-driving automobiles, it is evident that there are more advantages to use these systems.