Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative development

In most schools around the world,students have their own mobile phones.While these devices can undoubtedly play a role in safety,connectedness and even learning, many schools have chosen to restrict their use on campus. In my view, this is a positive step and can bring benefits not only academically but physically and socially too. Restriction on phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. This is simply because, without these devices, there are far fewer distractions for teachers and students. When a student has their phone in their lap or pocket, for instance,there is a irresistible urge to check constantly for texts,alerts or social media updates.Even the most observant teacher cannot prevent them from sneakily checking their messages or scrolling through this irrelevant material during the lesson.The endless distractions draw attention away from important educational matters and erode attention spans, which can have long term effects on academic progress. A blanket ban on phones during class frees learners from this compulsive checking and allows them to focus. In addition to banning phones in the classroom,a school that restricts their use outside the class can also expect improvements in student wellbeing.Indeed, if phones are banned at lunchtime and recess,children are forced to engage in a more meaningful and perhaps active ways with their classmates. They may play games,sports or simply sit and chat together,activities which are far healthier than sitting alone hunched over a screen.Without limitations enforced by the school,children simply cannot draw the line on their phone use. These social and physical benefits are only possible with strict mobile rules. In conclusion, despite phones are a part of our modern lives,I strongly feel that their use in schools should be limited. With the firm boundaries and bans in some situations,students are able to learn better,strengthen friendships and engage in healthier pursuits.