Multicultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic peoples, bring more benefits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are tremendously controversial notions heating a debate over the pros and cons of cultural diversity. While some people side fact that it is immensely beneficial to the society, others do not. In my very school of thought, although everything has its both sides and this is not an exception, I relatively consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of doubt, to some people’ belief, this phenomenon can eventuate some redeeming features since it acts as a precursor for the improvement of the individual. By wisely exchanging their traditional institutions with those from other ethnic groups of people with ease, they would not only have a better sense of other cultures but also widen their horizon since they have a chance to make use of multidimensional perspectives and provoke their critical thinking. Hence, it then leads to more rounded people and the hike in educational standard for the nation. While the remarkable merit of it is widely acknowledged, its drawbacks, inevitably, still linger. It is an obstacle for people to reside harmoniously with those who possess distinct ethos when the distinction between people ’s perceptions can result in miserable misunderstanding or even worse, wars, including both verbal and physical. The USA can be cited as a quintessential example under this situation when this nation is home for every race in the world regardless of their skin tone, their religious or their political ideology. Racist, human discriminations, corporal violences and other wicked acts are considered serious burdens for not only the individual but also the government to eradicate it. In conclusion, despite the desirable impact brought by the combination of people from fundamental different ethnic groups, I particularly insist that it still does more harm than good for a community.