Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is debatable whether the main function of universities should be to provide knowledge and skills needed in the workplace or to give access to knowledge for its own sake regardless of the course’s usefulness to an employer. This essay will argue that university education should be more practical for graduates to prepare for their future jobs for some reasons, which are as follows. Universities should offer fruitful education meeting students’ demands apart from pure knowledge itself. Most undergraduates’ purpose on entry of tertiary schools is to get better occupations with higher salaries, whereas only a few can aim at academics itself like gentleman scientists or ancient royal families. For example, some US universities introduced Silicon-valley courses to acquire useful skills necessary for the industrial fields, which contributed afterwards to finding Steve Jobs’ Apple and Jeff Bezos’s Amazon. Without the innovative educational attempts which targeted career achievement needed in the workplace, the smartphones and online markets offered by the companies might not exist. Career-centred education by universities can benefit the domestic economy. When companies or industrial fields need more human resources, it takes little time or expense to discover new talents in those schools and reduces domestic costs in total. For instance, far east countries have developed their economies rapidly, which were behind leading countries in North America and Europe in 20 century, by settling down university-work links. To conclude, I agree with that universities should provide more opportunities for students to acquire the fruitful knowledge and skills that future employers would require. The reason is that universities ' practical education ends up coming true individual vision as well as economic prosperity.