Some people believe that to reduce the amount of time people spend commuting (travelling to work), parks and gardens close to city centres should be replaced by apartment buildings for commuters to live in. However, others disagree with this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many argue that replacing parks and green spaces in centres of the city with accommodation buildings is an essential measure to diminish the time travelling to work, while some people strongly disagree. This essay will discuss both points of view before a conclusion is given. On the one hand, by utilizing some green zones to construct living apartments, people can reduce the commuting time, therefore saving not only their time but also their energy. With more time and energy, they can concentrate better on their work, which leads to a higher quality of work. Moreover, besides the professional perspective, it is also beneficial for their personal life since they now have more time for loved ones and self-care. Finally, staying close to the workplace encourages people to walk to work or use public transportation. This can benefit in terms of economics by cutting down fuel costs. On the other hand, parks and gardens harmonize the fast-paced lifestyle of the urban area. The removal of all green spaces will take away the opportunities to engage in social gatherings and exercises, which could lead to mental stress and disconnection with the community. For example, people have to find other ways to use their leisure time when there are no longer parks and gardens. And instead of taking part in healthy activities like having a picnic or jogging with friends to enjoy the green atmosphere, they might stay inactive on their mobile phones and social media. Furthermore, plants in parks, especially in cities where land for growing plants is scarce play an important role in enriching the oxygen level in the air, In conclusion, green spaces created by parks and gardens are irreplaceable. The reduction of commuting time should be achieved through other solutions. For instance, instead of removing the parks, many buildings could be reconstructed to create more living spaces.