Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Decision making is an important aspect in human lives. While certain individuals opine that there would be independent thinkers in the society if kids are given freedom to make an informed decisions about their needs and wants. Others think it is vital that young lads decide on issues affecting their well-being. There are valid points on both sides which will be discuss in the essay below and my opinion given in the conclusion. On one hand, those who argue that self autonomy on the lives of youngsters in terms of food, wears and entertainment is pivotal stating that it actually improves their sense of reasoning and making the right choices for themselves. At the early stage of their lives when their brain cells are still developing and cravings to explore, if several options are presented, they tend to decide on what they want if given the liberty to do so thereby making them believe in themselves and elated. For instance, according to the research by Child Health Association of Nigeria, 40% of young lads make personal decisions when given an opportunity. On the other hand, some folks suggest that it is imperative that kids decide on issues affecting their lives. If a child unfortunately lives in an unhealthy and abusive environment, this type of psychological trauma would prompt him or her to make a quick decision and report to the right authority so as to secure safety. For example, children that are victims of rape are obliged to seek for refuge by making the right decisions and seeking for immediate help from the right source. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is vital for kids to think critically about their feelings and go for the best option because it would help stabilise their mental health, make them to be courageous and tactful.