Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree?

Computer is the most wonderful invention of the modern world and young children are more attracted towards them. Like every other modern technology computer also has its own merits and demerits. But I feel advantage or disadvantage depends upon how we are using the technology and for what purpose the computers are used. Firstly, kids use computers for playing video games, programming and now a day’s their schooling is on computers. Since pandemic kids are using computers or laptop to attend their school for 4-5 hours daily and after that also they have to use computer for home work. Yes there are disadvantages for using computer or any technology as their screening time increases which can have negative effect on their health, but using computer or laptop is far better than watching TV or playing video games on mobile phone as kids waste their time for unwanted activities. In today’s competitive world computer knowledge is must and it increases their thinking ability. Kids learn programming and by playing intellectual games will increase their thinking ability. Like many advantages it also has disadvantages like kids spent their most of the time on computers and don’t involve in any physical activities. They don’t talk much or open up with their parents, if they meet any of their cousins in family gathering also they either talk about IT technology and they just sit quietly. For instance, I remember one such incident, my kid love computer programming and we have enrolled him for coding classes where they were teaching him to develop games. He got so involved in that, he use to spent most of his time doing practice and don’t like to get involve in physical activities he started spending less time with his friends. So we made him understand and put time limit for using computer. To conclude, every technology has its own advantage and disadvantage but it depends on us how much and for what purpose we use it. If we use it to gain knowledge rather than playing games it is always an advantage.