Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As the upliftment of medical science, the life span of humans is prolonged when compared with the past decades. While some claim that aging has more pitfalls than merits, some believe that they can obtain a high standard of living in their twilight lives. With the deterioration of the body system and quick change of society, demerits outweigh benefits in longer life expectancy First of all, there is no doubt that the stability of the society brings a sense of security to the elderly in terms of financial subsidies. In order to reward the hardworkingness of the seniors in the golden ages, many countries provide pensions to them. Taking Canada as an example, it has a comprehensive social benefit network that citizens have no worries about their future, since dwellers can have a monthly allowance after a certain age. However, with the inflation of daily necessities and the needs of recreation activities, can the seniors live without financial pressure? Chronic diseases such as hypertension, diabetics and respiratory illness are common in mature adults. Recently, the medical sector consumes the most in expenditures not only for personal but also for the whole society; medical expenses have a tremendously surge every year. To exemplify, although Hong Konger can enjoy an affordable medical treatment in a public hospital, the locals would choose a private hospital which has speedy service and a wider spectrum of physicians but expensive. It is difficult for the aged population to sustain their lives even if pensions are provided. Furthermore, as the innovation of artificial intelligence, society becomes more digitized, which widens the gap between the older people and other generations. To further elaborate, still over 70% of people who aged above 70 in Hong Kong fail to use telecommunication apps such as Whatsapp while it is one of the most common communication tools over the world. For those who are reluctant to new technology, they would find mass barriers when living in a modern city. To conclude, even the flourishing of society brings merits to the seniors, the financial burden and fast-paced life would limit the lives of them. If the older people cannot fully immerse themselves in the society, it would be a drawback for them to become aging.