Damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of the improvement in the standard of living. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the progression of society, mass environmental destruction can be seen. While some believe that deterrent effects toward the world are unavoidable during the integration of the society, some hold an opposite opinion. With the involvement of innovative science and education, it is believed that humans can obtain a balance between development and conservation. First of all, the upliftment of industrial science is a two-sided sword, which brings convenience to people as well as insurmountable pollutants to the earth. To exemplify, residents consumed tons of fossil fuels in past decades, resulting in enhanced global warming which ruined the habitants of thousands of species. Recently, scientists are exploring the usage of renewable energy such as solar and tidal power; not only the authorities but also dwellers are spending those cleaner energy. In Hong Kong, the locals can select to use sustainable energy resources through signing up in electrical companies, impulsing citizens to participate in protecting the environment. There is no doubt that innovative science brings pitfalls, nonetheless, the damage is going to be under control. Arousing social awareness towards eco-friendly life is essential in modern society. Without the joint effort of the government and residents, catastrophe towards the environment can be extrapolated. To further elaborate, Japan has stringent rules on disposal of garbage, resulting in a better recycling of useful materials and sustainable usage of resources. Furthermore, the promotion of low-carbon life via school and advertisement help Japanese to develop a sense of responsibility in saving the environment. If the majority has the alertness in maintaining the equilibrium between living and ecosystem, it would be the first step to an environmentally friendly society. To conclude, human activities harm the environment. However, with the advancement of technology and increasing awareness of dwellers, the situation is charging. Although personal effort gives infinitesimal effect, the cooperative of mankind would divert the present trend and give a brighter future to our next generation.