Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to leam how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable fact that all the actions children do or see, contributes to the overall development of their brain & personality. Being part of any structured form of exercise or free time leisure hobbies, youngster can bag so many things to learn or develop. There are the majority of life skills, habits which we all adopt in our childhood only. I will be discussing benefits of both the school of thought in my subsequent crumb of writing. I will also share my own opinion and rationale behind my thought. Firstly, I will advocate the benefits of structured series of activities. By involving child into such tasks like role play, group sports, group discussion, hide and seek, theatre outdoor excursions and many others, where he/she acts with other children of the same age they learn very basic but lifetime important skills. Few among those are, time management, coordination, cooperation, leadership, team spirit, team management, goal orientation, focus, respect for others & their role & contribution, discipline, protecting oneself and others, they learn from the mistakes done by other children also. In addition to these lessons, a kid collects many sweet memories to cherish forever. Moving forward to the points in favour of those who think that the occupying kids in free-time activities which are less structured or organised. There are many benefits of these also, like from these activities child develops critical thinking, focus, grasping power, he and she will learn from his/her own mistakes and they will find out their own ways to get away from the boredom. To sum up, it is clear that the advantages of group tasks overweigh the benefits of unorganised activities. To list some, the very important part that child would miss learning in second type is how to interact effectively, how to be social, the art of expression, leadership, following instructions & rules laid for any activity. These are the things one cannot say no. It is better to learn these at early age otherwise life and challenges have their own way to teach them. With all these skills, these children will be tomorrow’s confident youth.