Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In this day and age, there is a recession in the number of local museum-goers. On the other hand, historical sites attract travel-makers more. This essay is dedicated to analysing the underlying roots, parallel with some efficacious solutions. Without a shadow of a doubt, many people consider museums a dreary and monotonous aspect to explore, especially to the locals since they are too familiar with them. At such a young age, visiting museums may be a must in their curriculum and obviously, they don’t want to visit those places anymore. Meanwhile, tourists have a higher demand of absorbing other’s intriguing culture. Furthermore, local people are up to the ears with their own stuff every day, so that they don’t even have time to pay for a short get-away trip. If they do, they would probably prefer discovering outer areas. However, there is a myriad of ways to fill the locals’ keen interest in visiting museums. Curators ought to hold special events and renew the format regularly with a view to attracting the already-visiting customers. For example, they can invite a performance team to lift the mood of the visitors or give bargain vouchers or discounts. Most importantly, marketing plays a paramount significant role in every industry and museums are not of exception. Specifically, they should promote the core value of visiting exhibitions as well as their enticing events on eminent media such as Facebook or Instagram. In conclusion, there are several reasons explaining why the number of tourists outnumbers that of the locals. However, I believe with proper solutions, this issue can be effectively redressed.