In some places, teenagers are encouraged to get part-time jobs while they are still in school. Do the advantages of teens working outweigh the disadvantages?

In our times, the mass recruitment of the workforce has created a demand for future employees to hold certain critical qualities in order to manifest the job they wish, one of which is having experience beforehand. Therefore, teenagers are encouraged to enrol in part-time jobs while they are pursuing education, which has sparked debate about whether this is beneficial to the students. In this essay, I will shed some light on both sides of the problem. On the one hand, being involved in the workforce early provides students with valid lessons about their future occupations. To be more detailed, being an employee holds many aspects upon the work itself, including communication, manners, teamwork,... Therefore, working at the adolescent age means that they encounter such interactions in advance to their actual career later on, which can appear quite helpful as they have familiarised themselves with many occurrences in the workplaces. To exemplify my statement, recent articles have pointed out that bigger companies have the tendency to hire staff with afore experience, regardless of the fields, as they are seen as more professional in comparison with their peers. On the other hand, working part-time distracts learners from their presumably main concentration. The ultimate goal of education is to achieve expertise in the students’ major field, which requires much time and effort. Therefore, working in such a period of time is an inappropriate approach to acquire the eventual result of studying, as being a waiter or so is time-consuming. Moreover, recruiters validate candidates with degrees of further education such as PhDs, especially in a specialized labour force where knowledge authority is of great significance. In summary, managing to have a part-time job as a student can be challenging but also rewarding as it grants them working experience but messes with their education. However, the drawbacks outweigh its benefits since it is almost impossible to balance a work-study life at such a young age resulting in a student being under intolerable pressure.