Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Human have inseparable bond with arts-based activities other than that of academics from centuries. Some academicians opine that including arts-based subjects in curriculum enhances the overall performance of the student. In my perspective, I completely agree with the statement and discuss the reasons for the same. To begin, art forms act as a perfect tool to exhibit the cultural values of each clan or society. So, learning music, art and drama is equal to understanding the traditional history of the nation. Thus, if this is a part of syllabus, the pupil can easily knows the evolution of traditional values that he or she belongs to. For instance, recently a survey conducted by the cultural department of United Nations proved that more than 42 per cent of the students are willing to pursue their career in arts sector and only less than 20 per cent of the students like to choose academic arena. Additionally, performance acts can act as a stress reliever. It can refresh minds of students after continuous studies and classes. To be clear, the brain cells get recharged when children sing songs or acting a character they like. However, this will enhance the overall academic and cognitive development of the child. For example, in China the Government made compulsory to study any of the performance-based activities such as instrumental music or acting. This steeply improved the academic grade and hence able to build citizens with healthy mind and fresh ideas. To sum up, today's children are tomorrow's citizens. So, it is the responsibility of authorities to take care of the mental development of students. Thus, it is better to include non-academic subjects as a part of the syllabus.