Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in the city centers while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern society, the proliferation of private cars has put a strain on the transport system and caused traffic congestion. It is often said that introducing restrictions to prohibit car ownership in the city centre is one of the effective methods to alleviate these problems. Meanwhile some people consider this to be impossible to do. Personally, I believe that privately owned vehicles should be banned to drive an efficient transport system. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the swelling of cars has taken its toll on traffic problems. That could be explained by the fact that in some metropolis cities where there is a large population, the quantity of cars increases more than ever before, which makes up a lot of land to park. Hence, car ownerships should stop working in urban areas and this is a possible approach to do in recent days as a number of big cities from around the world are implicating this solution. Take Amsterdam for a good example, almost all citizens commute to work by bicycles, which would reduce gridlock congestion to 28% in 2019 in comparison to 40% in 2018. As a result, when the national government restricts the volume of private vehicles, it will curb traffic issues and reduce air pollution. On the other hand cars are not the principal factors that contribute to traffic congestion in current days. People need to take into consideration some external factors such as public awareness and the quality of infrastructure. It is true that, many city dwellers suffer from inadequate transport infrastructure along with dense transport density which could lead to stuck in traffic jams at peak hours. Furthermore, irresponsible driving habits would trigger this obstacle. That's why according to an article published in the journal The New York Times, the proportion of global car accidents increased to 62%, compared with 50% in 2018. Consequently, it is understandable that the public considers the aforementioned method to be unrealistic because cars have not contributed to key reasons. In conclusion, although people have widely different views on this adverse trend, I believe that banning cars could facilitate residents to deal with movement difficulties. In the future, I predict that there will be a considerable decrease in the figure for cars in inner cities.