Some people say that having a lot of TV channels is good, while others argue that it reduces the quality of programs. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that, enhancing the number of TV channels is a positive change, while others disagree and think that it will result in a low quality of programs. I believe that having a variety of media broadcasted on TV is a great opportunity as it allows people more options when choosing the TV projects. In this essay, explanations for both essays will be provided before making a certain conclusion. (71) On the one hand, having more channels is beneficial to the audience, because it provides the wide range of TV programs’ selection. In other words, different channels cater to different groups of people according to their own tastes and preferences, so that individuals can watch the TV programs they are interested in. For instance, children are fond of cartoons, while youngsters prefer watching reality shows which include educational, cooking and sport themes. Another reason is that, if there is a large number of channels, humans would not get bored and could widen their knowledge, obtaining useful information in diverse fields. Some people who do not like to watch sport events, can switch to other channels and find the one which satisfies their wishes. (124) On the other hand, the certain part of audience is concerned that telecasting various types of TV entertainments can reduce the content’s quality remarkably. Firstly, if there is an excess of TV channels, the competition on the media market would grow significantly. As a result, the share of pecuniary advantage probably would be infinitesimal for each program, leading to dwindle of the quality. In addition, there will be more and more channels established on commercial purposes, containing a lot of advertisements, which lessens the enjoyment of viewers. Business advertisements are also considered as distracting and time-consuming activity. For example, people who are watching an action movie can be easily interrupted by ads as they require an attention. In conclusion, despite the fact that broadcasting various TV channels results in poor degree of programs, because of financial issues, I still believe that providing media materials according to spectators’ taste is much more essential, as they broaden human’s horizons.