Some people believe that travelling is a valuable experience; others say it is a waste of time and money. ​    Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the era of globalization, a numerous number of people are getting more passionate about travelling across the world to explore the world beyond their imagination than it used to be in the past. Many inhabitants consider that this tendency has a beneficial impact, whereas others believe it as money down the drain. The objective of this essay is to examine whether going on a holiday plays a crucial role in human’s life or it is frittering away precious resources. On the one hand, people travelling always develop empathy and a deeper understanding of other cultures, as visiting various locations may broaden individuals’ worldview. In other words, being more tolerant about a culture distinctive from yours is a part of not only being wiser, but also improving brain capacities. For instance, research by scientists at the University of Arizona has shown that 70% of people feel better, both physically and psychologically after travelling; in addition, there is a quote by Saint Augustine, which goes “ the world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page”. Consequently, this tendency has been considered as a beneficial contribution to a person’s mental as well as physical well – being. On the other hand, while living in a foreign country, many inhabitants can face with severe obstacles, taking into consideration the fact that the vast majority of basic needs may cost an arm and a leg. In other quarters, prices for groceries, accommodation and transportation abroad can distinguish from the prices back at home. To cite an example, according to the statistics, more than 60% of individuals have lost a huge amount of money travelling abroad, because of unexpected costs, such as an accident and medical treatment. Hence, in some cases going on a holiday may be just wasting time and money. To sum up, all aforementioned points illustrate that although travelling do requires a huge amount of money and time, it can be advantageous experience for residents. As far as I am concerned, if inhabitants did not visited foreign countries, they wouldn’t connect with different people from different cultures, without stepping out of comfort zone.