• Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Write at least 250 words.

It is important for people to decide in which type and style of accommodation they want to live in. While some believe that the new constructions ought to be in the same style as existing, others disagree and argue that the area council should permit residents to make their houses of their own choice. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I believe that building a home according to one’s own wishes has more negative impacts. Undoubtedly, there are many benefits of developing a home of one’s own design. The first is the space in a home. One can build a home of own choice according to his family needs and required room number. In Pakistan, for example, there are big families, a majority of 3 or 4 kids and all need their own room and privacy. Indeed, homes of own choice are to fulfil the family requirement. Another point to consider is the human nature of owning unique things. In fact, different design of a home, depicts a mark of their own personality and character in the specific design of a home. Although, positives of space and privacy and its own mark are essential features, the negatives of monetary misuse and loss of the city’s traditional style are not negligible. Nevertheless, building huge homes can result in a competition of making grand designs between citizens. Citizens with big revenues such as businessmen want to show off their wealth and to do so they invest in luxurious homes not only interiorly but with an extravagant exterior as well. Adding to it, is the loss of the region’s individuality. If everyone will construct large homes different from one another, the originality of that area will be lost. It will be more of a museum with sight-seeing showpieces but culturally an unknown city. To conclude, residences with grand designs and beautiful buildings are the right of every homeowner. The positives of space for family and owners imprint on the property are undeniable, however, in my view, they are outweighed by the negatives of monetary exploitation in building distinct houses and loss of cultural heritage of a city.