In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occuring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

As laws and norms change, so do family structures and along with it changes the role played by each family member. This essay will discuss the changes that have taken place in the modern society including single parent family and sharing of responsibilities between spouses. This essay will further explain why the advantages are superior. In the past, nuclear families where both parents and their offsprings live under one roof used to be prevalent. However, now there is a huge trend toward single parent families due to more marriages ending up in divorces. In addition, the number of single mothers are increasing as many mothers want children without getting married. Nevertheless, in terms if changing parental roles in a family, the customary thought of patriarchal families have been replaced by dual income households. To illustrate it, in the past only make used to be the breadwinners of the family whereas at parent it is normal for women to pursue their careers. Thus single parent and both working parents households are ubiquitous in today's society. The most significant advantage of growing up in a single parent family is that kids tend to develop independence faster than their peers. For instance, if the parent is at work then the kid would be left alone to fend for himself. Therefore, single parent family means child transforming into a self-reliant individual. Considering the changes in households, both parents would be able to make their own identity and it could also be seen as a progress as women no longer be under the pressure to sacrifice their careers for childcare responsibilities. Hence it is readily apparent that the changes are beneficial. To conclude, with time the family structure changed from traditional to single parent. Also the family role changed from male-dominated view to both parent working, thereby making these changes positive.