It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In some countries, educational policy is aimed at providing university places for most youngsters. I totally disagree that national authorities should adopt such a policy in the future. It is not feasible to offer university places for a large number of the young. Firstly, the cost of the practical measures to construct new campuses is prohibitive. Without schemes to build new campuses, they cannot deal with the intake of unprecedented student numbers. Even if these buildings were constructed, they would have to be needed to be maintained and staffed. Secondly, the university entrance standards will be lowered, enabling those with lower grades to gain admittance. Inevitably, the university entrance standards will suffer in the next years. It is impractical for government authorities to provide universities places for young people. A nation of expensively trained academic graduates is socially desirable. However, there is a lack of skilled technicians and employees such as plumbers, electricians and truck drivers, at the same time, there is a graduate unemployment. Thus, it is more necessary for authorities to provide vocational courses for youngsters, combined with internship opportunities and on the job training. This could cover diverse fields such as construction and nursing. By doing so, a balanced economy will sustain job opportunities for all sectors in the economy. In conclusion, I believe that providing university places for a large number of young people is not beneficial to some extent. Instead of doing so, governments should improve the quality of education of existing high schools.