Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argued that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both point of view and give your own opinion.

There are mixed views when it comes to whether fixed or flexible punishments should be used in ruling criminal offences. This essay seek to discuss both assertions, in favour of the latter. On one hand, the use of standard judgements can be useful in exercising fairness and upholding consistency in the courts. When an individual commits an offence for example poaching of wild animals an already known sentence should be imposed. If for one crime different consequences are given, this might raise suspicions that the legal system is biased and therefore gives room for corruption. Mandatory punishment is essential for the sake of equality among different individuals On the other hand, some argue that circumstances surrounding the offence should be investigated in order to determine the appropriate sentence. For example two individuals may steal from a grocery shop. One being Change the form of the verb is show examples a first time offender and the other found to be connected to other pilferage offences. The first time offender may be given a lesser punishment as compared to the who is a seriel thief. In addition one may arm himself for the purpose to cause harm or kill another person. The other may kill a person mistakenly in a car accident. in both cases murder was commited however on different scenerios. Hence an analysis to the circumstance leading to the wrongdoing should be done to give a adequate consequence. In conclusion, flexible punishments are more convinient than fixed punishments. It is apparent that some people may get involved in crimes unintentionally and some premeditate and have it planned to commite an offence. Exercising flexible measures would make sure that each person gets a sentence they deserve.