Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative development?

A new trend is emerging among children that they spend most of their time playing computer games and spare very little time for physical or outdoor sports. There are many reasons behind it and also has worrying consequences on the physical and mental health of the kids. This essay will discuss major drivers and their impact on negative development. First of all, it is inevitable for kids to be attracted to videos games because there are so many digital gadgets or equipment surrounding them used by adults. Curiosity in children leads them to try and handle these gadgets and they fall into the trap of computer games. Furthermore, they start spending most of their time trying to up their character's level in the game which can be addictive and can take away a lot of time and effort. However, parents are also to blame for not keeping an eye on their child and some parents hand over their smartphone to keep them busy. For example, many housewives are also doing work from home jobs and kids can be disturbing into their work so, they will keep children busy by giving them games to play on the computer or phones. Consequently, the habit of playing computer games for hours every day leading kids to turn into introverts, lacking development of soft skills and limiting their growth of physical strength by playing outdoor sports. In some cases, kids who can not perform well in real life start to find a sense of achievement in the virtual world of computer games which can be extremely dangerous for their mental health in long term. In conclusion, many children are found to be spending more time playing computer games instead of outdoor sports which are affecting adversely on their physical as well as mental health.