In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

People enjoy fictions and TV dramas during their leisure time, however, in recent times, crime genre in particular has increased in popularity. This phenomenon is contributed by the unusual feeling that it offers and because of attractive media effects. However, I personally assume crime stories and TV shows atr a negative influence for the society for a few reasons which will be further elaborated in this essay with examples. The main reason why people favour novels and TV shows of crime genre is that they generate the feeling of thrill and excitement. For example, the unexpected turns of events and scares throughout the plot have the tendency to develop adrenaline in the audience. In addition, especially in the movies, the sound and visual effects are not mundane and hackneyed like other kinds of films such as drama and romance which acts as an enhanced value for the viewers. Although many fancy crime fictions, films and TV shows, I believe they can adversely affect peace in the society. For one, they generate a sense of insecurity in individuals by making them fear of certain things such as strangers, dark alleys and being alone. Another reason is that they contribute to a rise in criminal offences in the community as they can act as a medium in illustrating the methods and plans of the commitment. For instance, the bad morals could be transmitted to young adults and tempted them to commit crimes. To conclude, various unimaginable crimes are being written as fictions and portrayed in movies which has gained significant number of viewers in most countries. People opt those because they give unordinary sensations, and they are different from other genres. Nonetheless, I believe there are many disadvantages to the exposure of such entertainment as they prompt unsafe feelings and they can cause an incline in the rate of criminal offences.